End of the Road

Dear Friends, 

Where do I start? Well, the beginning as they say is always the best place to start. Do I tell of the many times as a child I was depressed and sad. Do I speak of the tears and fear that tormented my soul during my adolescent years? 

Most of which were consequences of my environment, dysfunctional family, over active imagination, a survivor of almost been abused twice, suicidal thoughts that constantly plagued my mind, times I had sneaked a knife from the kitchen to my room to slash my wrist just to see the blood flow and cry hoping God will take me away from the pain I constantly felt, the feeling of abandonment. These were the conditions of my early years till I was about twelve/thirteen years of age.
That year I came in contact with the most powerful force in the Universe. I was in high school and was invited for a meeting at lunch break. I thought I might as well go. Nothing much to do at lunch break, except eat and read. I loved reading; it was an escape from the world I lived in.

Nothing whatsoever could have prepared me for what l was about to experience. There was a fairly large group of students waiting for the meeting to begin. 

A man stood up to speak. He told a story of a man who had been born more than two thousand years ago and yet was still alive! I sat upright, straining to see him and hear more. That was strange and unlike anything I had ever heard. He spoke of this man that had existed long before time or anything else had been. Because He himself created time. This awesome being had a kingdom but had left it all behind to come to earth to die for me. It was an amazing story. I sat transfixed, waiting to hear more.
The preacher spoke of this man like his personal friend. He told us of how this Man came from a humble background, yet got the attention of kings and the rulers of His time. This Man was falsely accused, arrested and crucified. Oh, the torture, His back was ripped by a flagrum. He was whipped numerous times until his skin was an unrecognizable mass of torn, bleeding tissue. He was nailed to a cross all because of my sins. I sat there In that hall, eyes brimming over in tears. My heart broke for the pains He went through.
The preacher told us that this was all predestinated. It had been prophesied long before the Man was born that He would come to offer His life as a sacrifice for humanity. It was all part of God’s Plan. There was a bigger picture to it, but this was the starting point. I wondered how it would end, if this awesome Man was dead. What hope do I have? What would become of me?
The concluding part of the story revealed that three days later, even the grave could not hold this magnificent Being down. He rose from the dead, releasing many that had been held captive by death. He did this all to bring me into union with His Father in Heaven. Our Father.

I cannot describe the spring of hope and joy that sprang up as these words fell on my broken heart. I don’t know how I walked up to the front when the altar call was made. For those who want to meet this Man, the son of God. This Man called Jesus!
This man who is more than a Man. As I spoke those words that joined me with Christ. Those words that forever changed my heritage and destiny, a transformation took place. The girl child that had walked into that hall was not the same that left at the end of the meeting. I was free. Free, Free at last!

P.S The Words
Dear Lord Jesus,

I know that I am a sinner and need Your forgiveness. I believe that You died on the cross for my sins and rose from the grave to give me life. I know You are the only way to God. So now I want to quit disobeying You and start living for You. Please forgive me, change my life and show me how to know You. In Jesus’ name.

Amen

Leave a Reply

